June 30, 2009

Hello world!

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:14 pm by mariawolters

Welcome to Speech and Science. This is my public blog, where I’ll be talking about work, life, and work-life balance. And life-work balance. And anything in-between, including being a woman in computer science (aka Girl Geek), a woman in STEM, and a procrastinator who reads too many science blogs.

I am a speech scientist and computational linguist. My first love was working with and researching language. This led me to study communication research and phonetics, linguistics, and computer science at the University of Bonn. Essentially, I studied speech and language technology, combining my love for language with the employability of computer science. I love using computers to research patterns of language use. My PhD dissertation was on patterns of anaphoric reference in discourse.

These days, I work mainly on adapting speech interfaces to older users. Working with and for older people is great, because older people are so varied in their abilities and attitutes.

I am also  fascinated by statistical modelling. Unfortunately, I have forgotten too much of my university maths to be a fluent statistician, but I love seeing stats in action – to me, it’s like making data sing and tell their story.

2 Comments »

  1. Mr WordPress said,

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. fridayafternoonwriter said,

    Stats are awesome! I love the way you describe them, that’s exactly how I feel.


Leave a Reply

